Built in the late 19th century by an unknown architect, Chizhova's house with bay-windows has always been unique and distinct from the rest of the houses not only on Bolshaya Kazanskaya (nowadays Oktyabrskaya Revolyutsiya) Street, but in Ufa also. Helmet-like domes of the corner turrets with dormers are unique as well. Molded trimmers of bay-windows and the rest of the façade are unparalleled in Ufa, which suggests that the architect was invited from Saint-Petersburg or, for example, Samara. Despite its strict proportions, the eclectic style of the building tends to Art Nouveau, specifically, neo-Russian Art-Nouveau.
As for the construction date, on the photo of the late 19th century one may clearly see the turret of the house. At the same time it is absent from the 1867 photo. Besides, the tax book of 1916 mentions that the house belonged to Iraida Chizhova, who inherited the house according to the last will and testament of her deceased husband as of May 5, 1900.
In the 1890s the family of woodmonger Feodor Chizhov owned one third of brick houses in Ufa. Most of his houses were located on Bolshaya Kazanskaya (Oktyabrskaya Revolyutsiya) Street, which constituted a historically and architecturally united group. Several Chizhov's houses, though, were located outside the quarter.
Ufa hereditary honorary citizen, 1st guild merchant Chizhov (approx. 1830-1900) was named "Ufa Croesus" (after the famous Lydia King) for his overwhelming wealth. By 1900 his wealth was estimated at approximately 67 thousand rubles, besides, his wife also had a capital of 21 thousand rubles. In 1890 Chizhov donated his mansion on Telegrafnaya (Tsuruypy) Street to the city for the purpose of establishing a hospital for 30 patients, which became the first large hospital in Ufa. Back then the former regional hospital (currently the Republican hospital) was quite modest in both size and capabilities.
Chairman of various committees, patron and benefactor, Feodor Chizhov died in the year 1900 and was buried at the Old Believers Cemetery in Ufa. In the 1930s the cemetery along the Traktovaya Street was destroyed, and wooden houses have been built at the site. After Chizhov's death the household was maintained by his wife Iraida Chizhova. The contemporaries told that she was a good owner, and she could enter cold water herself to accelerate the works.
In the city Chizhov was famous for being a generous benefactor. He donated to almost every significant construction of a public building or church in the city. Neither his widow nor his son Aleksandr broke with this tradition: their portraits were put in a journal, which was published in honor of the city's most generous benefactors. Up to 1917 widow of hereditary honorary citizen Iriada Chizeva held membership in the Orphanage Trustees Board along with the governor, vice governor, and the ruling bishop.
At present the house is used as a residential building.