List of Sites

St. Sergius Church

St. Sergius Church

Nowadays:

Saint Sergius Cathedral

For some unknown reason already in the 17th century the part of the city on the other side of the Sutolka River was named Old Ufa. In the 16th century the vicinity of current Moskovskaya Street was occupied by the soldiers and artillerymen (Streltsy and Pushkary), who were sent to protect Ufa Kremlin. They considered St. Sergius of Radonezh, one of the most esteemed Russian saints, to be their patron saint. Around Russia almost 600 churches (cathedrals) are named after him. In Moscow alone there...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      2 Bekhterev Street
      Phone:
      +7 (347) 272-17-83, +7 (347) 276-38-90
      Business hours:
      Mon-Sun 8.30a.m.-7.00p.m.
      Public Transport Stop:
      Monument Druzhby
  • History

      For some unknown reason already in the 17th century the part of the city on the other side of the Sutolka River was named Old Ufa. In the 16th century the vicinity of current Moskovskaya Street was occupied by the soldiers and artillerymen (Streltsy and Pushkary), who were sent to protect Ufa Kremlin. They considered St. Sergius of Radonezh, one of the most esteemed Russian saints, to be their patron saint. Around Russia almost 600 churches (cathedrals) are named after him. In Moscow alone there are 67 churches and chapels named after St. Sergius of Radonezh.

      In Ufa a wooden St. Sergius of Radonezh Church was built in 1868 at the site of the ancient church founded by Moscow soldiers. The best part of the church parish consisted of artillerymen (Pushkary). That is why historian K. Kheruvimov believed that initially the church was erected by the soldiers and artillerymen because of their "special respect to reverend St. Sergius, who has always been considered to be the patron saint of artillerymen and Moscow". Local historian A. Peker believed that the church was built by the former inhabitants of Sergiev Posad (a town near Moscow) to commemorate the native land they had left. P. Ishcherikov claimed that the church was founded by the monks of burnt-out Ufa St. Sergius Monastery.

      The church parish consisted of the inhabitants of Old Ufa and Zolotukha settlement. By the early 20th century the parish amounted to 1.692 people, including 22 Old Believers. The church was remarkable because of its ancient icon of St. Sergius of Radonezh. It is this icon that Admiral Kolchak was blessed with in Ufa in May 1919. The St. Sergius Church bell tower featured six bells with the largest one weighting 81 poods and 38 pounds (almost 1.350 kg).

      The iconostasis was made in 1894 by Trapeznikov in compliance with all the traditions of church art. The money was donated by merchant Fyodor Chizhov. Local archpriest Fyodor Troitsky made a lot of efforts to erect and decorate the church. He produced icons for the church, gilt the iconostasis and icon-cases. He served as a senior priest of St. Sergius Church until 1884. Famous Ufa painter Mikhail Nesterov left warm memories about Fyodor Troitsky.

      The adjacent streets had respective names: Bolshaya Sergiyevskaya and Malaya Sergiyevskaya Streets (currently Mendeleeva and Bekhtereva Streets) and two Sergievsky pereuloks.

      The Church of the Transfiguration near the cemetery was affiliated with St. Sergius Church, that is why Ufa Christian cemetery was called St. Sergius Cemetery. In 1933 a number of churches were closed down, including the Resurrection Cathedral, St. Nicholas and St. Simeon Churches. After that St. Sergius Church served as a cathedral. In 1937 bishop Gregorius was arrested together with the clergy. For several years the church was opened, but there was no church service. The church was maintained by its watch and cleaners of the church. Church service was restored in 1942. On June 3, 1944 Ufa archbishop Stephen received a telegram from Iosif Stalin. The leader of the Soviet Union thanked the parish of St. Sergius Church for donating 200 thousand rubles to the USSR Defense Fund and 140 thousand for presents to soldiers.

      In 1945 the clergy and parish of St. Sergius Church were awarded a letter of gratitude from hospital No.4018 for the presents, money and assistance to the wounded. In 1946 the clergy of the church were awarded Medals "For Valiant Labor in the Great Patriotic War 1941–1945". In 1945 alone the parish of St. Sergius Church donated 919,500 rubles.

      In 1945-1982 Moses Chigvintsev served in the church. He was endowed with the gift of prophecy, foresight and healing. Currently he is canonized by the Russian Orthodox Church in the holy face of the reverend. His relics currently rest in the church.

      In recent years the exterior of the church has changed dramatically: the church domes have been gilt. Besides, for many years the church remained dark blue, now it is painted a much lighter turquoise color.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
6421
8
To top

Каталог объектов

Сергиевская церковь

Сергиевская церковь

В наше время:

Свято-Сергиевский кафедральный собор

Часть города Уфы, отделённая от уфимской крепости рекой Сутолокой, уже в XVII веке по какой-то причине стали называть Старой Уфой. Район нынешней улицы Московской ещё в XVI веке облюбовали для жительства стрельцы и пушкари, присланные для охраны уфимского кремля. Своим святым...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Бехтерева улица, 2
      Телефон:
      +7 (347) 272-17-83, +7 (347) 276-38-90
      Часы работы:
      Пн-Вс 8.30-19.00
      Проезд:
      до остановки «Монумент Дружбы»
  • История

      Часть города Уфы, отделённая от уфимской крепости рекой Сутолокой, уже в XVII веке по какой-то причине стали называть Старой Уфой. Район нынешней улицы Московской ещё в XVI веке облюбовали для жительства стрельцы и пушкари, присланные для охраны уфимского кремля. Своим святым покровителем пушкари считали преподобного Сергия Радонежского – одного из самых почитаемых русских святых. Ему посвящено большое количество храмов (престолов) – около шестисот по всей России. Только в Москве в честь преподобного Сергия Радонежского выстроено 67 храмов и часовен.

      В Уфе деревянный однопрестольный храм в честь преподобного Сергия Радонежского был построен в 1868 году на месте древней церкви, основанной московскими стрельцами. Приход церкви составляли главным образом стрельцы из числа пушкарей. Именно поэтому историк К.П. Херувимов считал, что первоначальную церковь на этом месте возвели прибывшие из Москвы стрельцы и пушкари из «особого уважения их к сему святому, который с древних времен считается на Руси покровителем артиллерии, а также потому, что преподобный Сергий считался небесным покровителем Москвы». Краевед А.А. Пекер считал, что церковь построена бывшими жителями подмосковного Сергиева посада в память о покинутых родных местах, а П.Ф. Ищериков утверждал, что церковь основали монахи сгоревшего уфимского Сергиевского монастыря.

      Приход храма состоял из жителей Старой Уфы и Золотухи – всего к началу XX века 1692 душ, в том числе 22 раскольника. Достопримечательностью церкви являлась древняя икона Святого Сергия Радонежского, именно ею был благословлен в Уфе адмирал Колчак в мае 1919 года. На колокольне Сергиевской церкви было шесть колоколов, самый большой из которых весил 81 пуд 38 фунтов.

      Иконостас в лучших традициях церковного искусства выполнен в 1894 году резчиком Трапезниковым, деньги на него пожертвовал купец Фёдор Чижов. Много труда положил на строительство и украшение церкви местный протоиерей Фёдор Троицкий, писавший для неё иконы, золотивший иконостас и киоты икон. Он был настоятелем Сергиевской церкви до 1884 года. Тёплые воспоминания о Фёдоре Троицком оставил уроженец Уфы художник Михаил Нестеров.

      Прилегающие к церкви улицы имели соответствующие названия – Большая и Малая Сергиевские (соответственно, Менделееева и Бехтерева) и два Сергиевских переулка.

      К Сергиевскому храму была приписана и кладбищенская Преображенская церковь, в связи с чем за православным кладбищем Старой Уфы прочно закрепилось название Сергиевское. В 1933 году, после закрытия Воскресенского кафедрального собора, Никольской и Симеоновской церкви, выполнявших поочередно функции собора, Сергиевская церковь стала называться кафедральным собором. В 1937 г. весь причт церкви во главе с епископом Григорием был арестован. В течение нескольких лет храм стоял открытым, но служба не велась. За ним присматривали церковные сторожи и уборщицы. Служба возобновилась в 1942 году. 3 июня 1944 года на имя архиепископа уфимского Стефана была получена телеграмма И.В. Сталина с просьбой передать привет и благодарность верующим Сергиевской церкви, собравшим 200 тысяч рублей в фонд Обороны СССР и 140 тысяч на подарки воинам.

      В 1945 г. всему духовенству и верующим Сергиевской церкви была вынесена благодарность командованием госпиталя № 4018 за переданные средства, подарки и помощь раненым. В 1946-м весь причт церкви награжден медалями «За доблестный труд в Великой Отечественной войне 1941 – 1945 гг.». Только за 1945 год приходом было пожертвовано 919 500 рублей.

      В 1945 – 1982 гг. в храме служил Моисей Чигвинцев, обладавший дарами прозорливости, предвидения и исцеления по молитве и ныне канонизированный Русской православной церковью в лике преподобного. Мощи его ныне пребывают в стенах храма.

      За последние годы внешний облик храма заметно изменился, прежде всего по причине покрытия куполов сплавом «под золото». Долгие годы церковь была окрашена в синий цвет, сейчас она выкрашена значительно более светлой зеленовато-бирюзовой краской.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
5319
8
Наверх