List of Sites

Church of the Nativity of the Virgin

Church of the Nativity of the Virgin

Nowadays:

The Cathedral of the Nativity of the Virgin

The location for the Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin was chosen by Bishop Antonius (secular name Alexey Khrapovitsky) when he served at the Ufa cathedra in the early 20th century. The church was founded in 1901. But the construction was slow due to lack of funds, until merchant Nikifor Patokin came to help. On August 23, 1909 eight bells were hoisted to the bell tower of the new church. On the 6th of August of the same year the church was consecrated. Later a Priuytsky (Nativity)...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      102 Kirov Street
      Phone:
      +7 (347) 228-68-19
      Business hours:
      Mon-Sun 8.00a.m.-7.30p.m.
      E-mail:
      kancufa@mail.ru
      Public Transport Stop:
      UKSIVT, Kirova
  • History

      The location for the Church of the Nativity of the Holy Virgin was chosen by Bishop Antonius (secular name Alexey Khrapovitsky) when he served at the Ufa cathedra in the early 20th century. The church was founded in 1901. But the construction was slow due to lack of funds, until merchant Nikifor Patokin came to help. On August 23, 1909 eight bells were hoisted to the bell tower of the new church. On the 6th of August of the same year the church was consecrated. Later a Priuytsky (Nativity) square appeared near the church.

      According to some sources the construction site had been chosen much earlier in 1803.

      The brick three-altar church was constructed in Eclecticism style through the donations of parish members and significant contribution of churchwarden merchant Patokin. The body of the church was topped with five domes and a wide central octangle drum. The refectory was connected with the storied bell tower. There were two side-altars: southern Michael the Archangel and northern Nicholas ones.

      Vasily Lezenkov was assigned the first senior priest. In 1916 the parish consisted of 1,747 males and females. The church did not have its own land, and the priests were not entitled to any stipend.

      After the 1919 revolution the building was occupied by a hospital, but the church was still operating. By the Decree of the Bashkir Central Executive Committee Presidium dated April 5, 1934 the Church of the Nativity of the Virgin was closed. By the end of April the building was given to the Medical Institute to equip a dissecting room. By that time the church property had been stolen. Nevertheless, the institute did not use the building, and in December 1935 it was given to Bashkir Cinema Company. It was planned to show sound motion pictures in the facility. The witnesses, though, claim that in 1936-37 the building was used as a prison. In October 1938 it was given to an aviation repair shop.

      By the decree of city council dated June 1955 the building of the former Church of the Nativity of the Virgin was transformed into Yondoz Cinema. In this connection the dome part was destroyed, whereas partition walls inside and two annexed buildings outside were constructed additionally.

      By the decree of city executive committee dated August 21, 1991 the building was given back to the church members. Father Boris Razveev was the first senior priest of the church when it was opened again. Upon the consent of archbishop Nikon, the head of Ufa Eparchy, the church was reconstructed. It was significantly extended, the alter part was enlarged, the bell tower was restored, the roof was covered with galvanized iron. In several years there was established a board of trustees, headed by K. Tolkachyov, the chairman of the Republican state council. The reconstruction, though, was suspended for some time. During the reconstruction one more wooden Church of John the Forerunner was built near the Nativity of the Virgin Church where the divine service was carried out for the period of reconstruction. During the first stage of the reconstruction a low-level bell-tower with a massive dome was constructed.

      In 2003 OAO Bashkirenergo suggested to finance the final stage of the reconstruction. Apart from that the company financed land improvement of the site, further construction of legation, chapel, mosaic icon of the Holy Vergin in the bell tower and professional lighting of the whole complex. The Sofrino plant manufactured the iconostasis. In December 2004 it was installed in the church.

      Upon the construction the church was transformed into the cathedral of Ufa and the whole Ufa and Sterlitamak Eparchy.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
4520
4
To top

Каталог объектов

Рождественско-Богородицкая церковь

Рождественско-Богородицкая церковь

В наше время:

Кафедральный соборный храм Рождества Богородицы

Место для храма Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы было выбрано епископом Антонием (в миру Алексей Храповицкий) в годы его службы на Уфимской кафедре в первые годы XX века. Храм был заложен в 1901 году. Однако из-за нехватки средств строительство продвигалось очень медленно, пока...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Кирова улица, 102
      Телефон:
      +7 (347) 228-68-19
      Часы работы:
      Пн-Вс 8.00-19.30
      E-mail:
      kancufa@mail.ru
      Проезд:
      до остановки «УКСИВТ», «Кирова»
  • История

      Место для храма Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы было выбрано епископом Антонием (в миру Алексей Храповицкий) в годы его службы на Уфимской кафедре в первые годы XX века. Храм был заложен в 1901 году. Однако из-за нехватки средств строительство продвигалось очень медленно, пока на помощь не пришел купец Никифор Миронович Патокин. 23 августа 1909 года на колокольню нового храма подняли восемь колоколов, 6 сентября того же года совершили посвящение. Позднее вокруг церкви начала формироваться квадратная Приютская (Рождественская) площадь.

      По данным из некоторых источников место для строительства храма было выбрано много ранее, еще в 1803 году.

      Кирпичная трёхпрестольная церковь, построена в эклектичном стиле на средства прихожан при существенном вкладе церковного старосты купца Н. М. Патокина. Основной объём завершен пятиглавием с широким центральным световым барабаном в виде восьмерика; трапезная в одной связи с ярусной колокольней. Приделы: Михайло-Архангельский (южный) и Никольский (северный).

      Первым настоятелем был назначен священник Василий Григорьевич Лезенков. В 1916 году в церковном приходе состояло 1747 душ мужского и женского пола. Земли у храма не было, жалованья священники не получали.

      После революции в 1919 г. здесь разместился госпиталь, но при этом храм оставался действующим. Постановлением Президиума БашЦИК от 5 апреля 1934 года Рождественско-Богородская церковь была закрыта, а уже в конце апреля здание было передано мединституту для оборудования анатомической клиники. На тот момент все церковное имущество было разграблено. Однако институт помещение так и не занял и в декабре 1935 года храм был передан «Башкино». В помещении храма планировалось установить звуковое кино. Но, по свидетельствам очевидцев, в 1936-1937 годах в церкви находилась тюрьма. В октябре 1938 года здание церкви было передано авиамастерским.

      Постановлением горсовета в июне 1955 года здание бывшей Рождественско-Богородской церкви отдали под кинотеатр, который получил наименование «Йондоз». В связи с этим были уничтожена купольная часть, сооружены перегородки внутри и два пристроя снаружи.

      Постановлением Горисполкома от 21 августа 1991 г. здание возвращено верующим. Первым настоятелем после открытия был назначен о.Борис Развеев. С благословения владыки Никона, управляющего Уфимской епархией, была произведена реконструкция храма, он был основательно расширен, увеличена алтарная часть, восстановлена колокольня, кровля покрыта оцинкованным железом. Спустя несколько лет был основан попечительский совет по реконструкции храма, возглавил который председатель государственного собрания республики К.Б. Толкачёв, но реставрация на недолгий срок была приостановлена. Во время реконструкции храма рядом с ним была построена деревянная церковь во имя Иоанна Предтечи, где, не дожидаясь окончания работ в каменном храме, велась служба. На первом этапе восстановления церковного здания была возведена невысокая колокольня с массивным куполом.

      В 2003 году ОАО «Башкирэнерго» вышло с предложением профинансировать завершение работ по реконструкции храма. В дополнение к решению необходимых задач, было профинансировано выполнение благоустройства территории храмового комплекса, достройки здания миссии, часовни, изготовление мозаичной иконы Богородицы для колокольни и профессиональную подсветку всего комплекса. В настоящее время строительные работы по храму завершены. На заводе церковной утвари «Софрино» был изготовлен иконостас и в декабре 2004 года установлен в храме.

      После окончания строительных работ Рождество-Богородская церковь стала соборным храмом – главным в Уфе и в Уфимско-Стерлитамакской епархии.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
5512
4
Наверх