List of Sites

Polikarpov's House

Polikarpov's House

Nowadays:

Residential building with offices

In 1879 this spot on the southern side of Sennaya Street belonged to Konstantin Nabatov. Back then the quarter was neither rich nor developed: along the street up to the crossroads with Malaya Kazanskaya (Sverdlova) Street there were only thirteen houses, including one stone house with iron roof. Since then the street was changed several names. First it was united with Kladbishchenskaya Street, and the new united street was named Bolshaya Uspenskaya after the name of the church which was located...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      34 Kommunisticheskaya Street
      Public Transport Stop:
      Zentsova, Aksakova (Kommunisticheskaya)
  • History

      In 1879 this spot on the southern side of Sennaya Street belonged to Konstantin Nabatov. Back then the quarter was neither rich nor developed: along the street up to the crossroads with Malaya Kazanskaya (Sverdlova) Street there were only thirteen houses, including one stone house with iron roof. Since then the street was changed several names. First it was united with Kladbishchenskaya Street, and the new united street was named Bolshaya Uspenskaya after the name of the church which was located in the lower part of the street. As early as 1918 it was named after Yegor Sozonov (Sazonov). But in the late 1930s this Ufa's central street was named after Stalin, because of the Moscow authorities coming to the town. In November 1961, though, a directive from Moscow ordered to rename this street. That's how it acquired its present-day name Kommunisticheskaya Street.

      In 1908, 1911, and 1914 this land plot was owned by Ivan Polikarpov. The 1911 advertisement says: "The partnership of Polikarpov brothers: steam drum mill for granular flour on Miass Plant of Orenburg Governorate. Granular flour is traded in their own stores in Miass, Zlatoust, and Ufa". Obviously, this building was not only a house for living but also an office. Flour was traded in the Polikarpov brothers store on Verkhne-Torgovaya Square and in the Ivan Polikarpov's store.

      The exterior of the house resembles that of the house of the Tushnovs on Malaya Ilyiskaya (Vorovskogo) Street. Decorations, though, are unique for this city, which means that the unknown architect is most likely to be a non-resident of the city. The brick style features are also uncommon for the city: windows are flanked with engaged columns and feature an archivolt with an impost supplemented with balusters. The attics are interconnected with cast-iron fencing with small dormer windows at the flanks of the building.

      In the Soviet age this house was given to the faculty members of the Institute of People's Education (later Timiryazev Pedagogical Institute) to live in. One of the flats was used by Moisey Pizov, an author of over twenty articles on the works of Pushkin, Lermontov, Kaverin, Goethe, Balzac, Shakespeare, Heine, and on the mutual influence of Russian and Western European literature. During the war Moisey Pizov worked part-time at the Literature Institute of the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences which was evacuated to Ufa. In 1942 he defended a doctoral thesis, and the ensuing year he was given the title of Assistant Professor (dotsent) at the chair of Russian and general literature of the pedagogical institute. He was given two luxury rooms in the Polikarpovs' house and provided a telephone connection.

      Pizov transformed his flat into a kind of literary salon. One could come here to discuss new books and to argue about them. These events sparkled ressentiment of neighbors and teachers of the institute. Later during the interrogations they claimed that Pizov tried to exert anti-Soviet influence on his guests. They interpreted these literary disputes as boozes and quarrels.

      On April 15, 1950 Pizov was arrested. He was accused of anti-Soviet propaganda in war-time. He was sent to a concentration camp near Irkutsk. In three years being consumptive he came back to Ufa. Until his death Pizov held a chair of Russian and general literature of Bashkir State University.

      In the 1990s the building underwent repair and restoration and was given to the Writers Union of the Republic of Bashkortostan.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
5412
9
To top

Каталог объектов

Дом жилой Поликарпова

Дом жилой Поликарпова

В наше время:

Жилой дом с административными помещениями

В 1879 году данное усадебное место на южной стороне улицы Сенной принадлежало Константину Набатову. Тогда квартал был небогат и ещё только осваивался: до улицы Малой Казанской (Свердлова) стояло всего тринадцать домов, в том числе один каменный, крытый деревом. С тех пор...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Коммунистическая улица, 34
      Проезд:
      до остановок «Зенцова», «Аксакова (ул. Коммунистическая)»
  • История

      В 1879 году данное усадебное место на южной стороне улицы Сенной принадлежало Константину Набатову. Тогда квартал был небогат и ещё только осваивался: до улицы Малой Казанской (Свердлова) стояло всего тринадцать домов, в том числе один каменный, крытый деревом. С тех пор улица не раз была переименована. Сначала Сенную объединили с бывшей Кладбищенской и на всём протяжении назвали Большой Успенской – в честь Успенской церкви, стоявшей в нижней части улицы. Затем, уже в 1918-м, она стала носить имя Егора Созонова (Сазонова). Но перед приездом в Уфу в конце 1930-х большого столичного начальства этой центральной улице Уфы срочно присвоили имя вождя – Сталина. Но в ноябре 1961-го по директиве из Москвы в ещё более срочном порядке её вновь переименовали, теперь она стала Коммунистической.

      В 1908 году данный участок числится за Поликарповым Иваном Васильевичем, в 1911-м и 1914-м – за ним же. Из рекламы 1911 года: «Товарищество братьев Поликарповых: крупчатная пароводяная вальцевая мельница в Миасском заводе Оренбургской губернии. Торговля крупчаткой в собственных лавках в Миассе, Златоусте и Уфе». Должно быть здание, кроме жилья, было предназначено и для размещения конторы в Уфе. На уфимской Верхне-Торговой площади мукой торговали и в лавке братьев Поликарповых, и отдельно в лавке Ивана Васильевича Поликарпова.

      Внешне дом Поликарповых в чём-то похож на дом Тушновых на Малой Ильинской (Воровского) улице, что же касается декора, то похожих на него в Уфе сейчас, пожалуй, нет, что, скорее всего, говорит о приезжем архитекторе, имя которого к сожалению не известно. Необычны для Уфы и использованные здесь приёмы из арсенала так называемого «кирпичного стиля»: фланкированные полуколоннами окна обрамлены как «архивольт на импосте», что дополнено выложенными из фигурного кирпича балясинами. Соединённые чугунной решёткой фигурные аттики с небольшими слуховыми окнами по краям здания как бы предваряют большие шатры.

      В советское время дом был передан для проживания профессорско-преподавательского состава Института народного образования (позже – Педагогический институт имени Тимирязева). В одной из квартир его жил М.Г. Пизов. Моисеем Григорьевичем написано более двадцати статей по литературоведению – о творчестве А.С. Пушкина, М.Ю. Лермонтова, В. Каверина, Гете, Бальзака, Шекспира, Гейне, а также о взаимовлиянии русской и западноевропейской литератур. Во время войны Моисей Григорьевич работал по совместительству в Институте литературы Академии наук Украины, эвакуированном в Уфу. В 1942 году он защитил кандидатскую диссертацию, в следующем году его утвердили в звании доцента кафедры русской и всеобщей литературы пединститута. Ему предоставили две шикарные комнаты в бывшем доме Поликарповых, установили телефон.

      Квартиру свою Пизов превратил в своеобразный литературный салон. Здесь можно было обсудить новинки литературы, поспорить. Эти вечеринки вызывали злопыхательство соседей, преподавателей того же института. Позже они показывали на допросах, что Пизов оказывал на своих гостей влияние – антисоветского, разумеется, характера. В их интерпретации литературные диспуты превратились в выпивки и ругань.

      15 апреля 1950 г. Пизов был арестован, его обвинили в антисоветской агитации во время войны. Он был осуждён и отправлен в лагерь под Иркутском. Лишь через три года заболевший в ссылке туберкулёзом Пизов вернулся в Уфу. До последних дней жизни Моисей Григорьевич работал заведующим кафедрой русской и всеобщей литературы БГУ.

      В 1990-е годы после серьёзного ремонта и реставрации здание было передано Союзу писателей Республики Башкортостан.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
2745
8
Наверх