List of Sites

Zaikov's Mansion

Zaikov's Mansion

Nowadays:

Office block

By 1910 houses on the odd-numbered side of Aleksandrovskaya (nowadays Karl Marx) Street between Malaya Kazanskaya (Sverdlov) and Bolshaya Uspenskaya (Kommunisticheskaya) Streets had been lined up end-to-end. The sunny side of Bazarnaya Square, never ending flows of people, and many other factors made the price of land in this area quite significant. Obviously, the Annunciation Monastery was the first stone building in the vicinity. Around the year 1885 it was reconstructed, and now it is used by...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      25 Karl Marx Street
      Public Transport Stop:
      TsUM, UGATU
  • History

      By 1910 houses on the odd-numbered side of Aleksandrovskaya (nowadays Karl Marx) Street between Malaya Kazanskaya (Sverdlov) and Bolshaya Uspenskaya (Kommunisticheskaya) Streets had been lined up end-to-end. The sunny side of Bazarnaya Square, never ending flows of people, and many other factors made the price of land in this area quite significant. Obviously, the Annunciation Monastery was the first stone building in the vicinity. Around the year 1885 it was reconstructed, and now it is used by Pharmacy No.5. All other land plots in this section of Aleksandrovskaya were purchased by a certain Mikhail Kekishev. He constructed a one-storey stone building and stopped for lack of money or because of illness. Anyways by 1879 he had already deceased, and the land plots were partitioned by the heirs. Obviously, Kekishev did not have children of his own, because this surname is not found anywhere else. What Kekishev did not manage to finish was finished by the new land owners the Zaikovs.

      In Ufa publications of the year 1896 we can find such texts: "A.P. Zaikov. Steam printing works and lithography in Ufa. Elegant and neat typography. Aleksandrovskaya Street, Zaikov's house. Manufactory, cloth, and fur goods in Ufa, shopping arcade".

      According to 1908 reference books, the land plot on Aleksandrovskaya Street belonged to Sergei Zaykov. It is obvious that Aleksey was the elder brother of Sergei Zaikov, because in 1879 Aleksey was a member of Ufa City Duma and a member of the accounting committee of Ufa City Public Bank. Sergei held significant offices only in the second half of 1890s. In 1897 Alexey Zaikov was a member of city administrative board. After 1900 his name suddenly disappeared from address calendars. Sergei demolished a large two-storey stone house of 1880s and used this land plot to build Astoria Hotel, whereas fifteen years before that Aleksey put an elegant cartouche featuring initial letters of his name and date 1896 on its house which looked small near the huge Astoria building. Aleksey added another floor to the one-storey house constructed by Kekishev in 1860s. Besides, he added two side wings, so the major part of the house looked like a risalit. The upper floor was decorated with arched windows featuring an archivolt. The major facade was richly rusticated. The upper part of the house was decorated with three attics. The central one, featuring the Old Russian style, carried the initial letter in the style of Old Slavonic letters.

      When in the late 1900s architect Guskov was constructing a new hotel building, he used a part of the fencing design of the balcony of Zaykov's House. It may be, though, that it was done in order to unite the two adjacent buildings.

      In the Soviet age this house along with the adjacent houses was occupied by the publishing house and typography of Sovetskaya Bashkiria and Vechernaya Ufa newspapers. Specifically, the former Aleksey Zaikov's house was occupied by the laboratory of press photographers and a small dormitory. At the same time the entrance arch was ruined by the trucks which brought products into the grocery store on the first floor of Ufa hotel (this is a Soviet name of Astoria Hotel). Several years ago the facade and the arch were renovated, but the supporting carcass altered the circular form of the arch.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
5465
6
To top

Каталог объектов

Дом жилой Зайкова

Дом жилой Зайкова

В наше время:

Административное здание

По нечётной стороне улицы Александровской (Карла Маркса) между Малой Казанской (Свердлова) и Большой Успенской (Коммунистическая) к 1910 годам дома выстроились впритык друг к другу. Солнечная сторона у базарной площади, постоянные потоки людей и многие другие факторы делали...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Карла Маркса улица, 25
      Проезд:
      до остановки «ЦУМ», «УГАТУ»
  • История

      По нечётной стороне улицы Александровской (Карла Маркса) между Малой Казанской (Свердлова) и Большой Успенской (Коммунистическая) к 1910 годам дома выстроились впритык друг к другу. Солнечная сторона у базарной площади, постоянные потоки людей и многие другие факторы делали цену земельных участков здесь весьма значительной. Первым каменным домом здесь, видимо, было здание подворья Благовещенского монастыря. Около 1885-го его перестраивают, сейчас в этом здании аптека №5. Все остальные участки данного отрезка Александровской скупил некий Михаил Кекишев. Он выстроил одноэтажное кирпичное здание, но на большее его то ли не хватило, то ли его сломила болезнь. Во всяком случае, к 1879 году его уже не было в живых, а участки начали делить наследники. Родных детей, видимо, у Кекишева не было, и эта фамилия больше нигде не встречается. То, что не успел осуществить Кекишев, сделали новые владельцы его участка Зайковы.

      В уфимских изданиях 1896 г. писали: «А.П. Зайков. Паровая типография и литография в Уфе. Изящное и аккуратное исполнение всех типографских работ. Александровская улица, дом Зайкова. Магазин мануфактурных, суконных и меховых товаров в Уфе, Гостиный двор».

      Но, согласно справочным книжкам 1908 года, рассматриваемый участок Александровской принадлежит Сергею Петровичу Зайкову. Ясно, что Алексей – это старший брат Сергея Петровича Зайкова, ведь уже в 1879 году он – гласный Уфимской городской думы, член учётного комитета Уфимского городского общественного банка. Сергей Петрович же входит в силу лишь во второй половине 1890-х гг. В 1897-м А.П. Зайков – член городской управы, но после 1900 года его имя из адрес-календарей неожиданно исчезает. Но если Сергей Петрович выстроил на принадлежавшем Зайковым участке на Александровской гостиницу «Астория», снеся при этом большой двухэтажный каменный дом середины 1880-х гг. постройки, то Алексей Петрович лет за пятнадцать до этого на своём, не большом рядом с громадой «Астории» доме, успел оставить след в виде изящного картуша с вензелем «А.П.» и датой «1896». Выстроенный ещё Кекишевым в 1860-е годы одноэтажный дом Алексей Петрович надстроил и добавил два боковых крыла, так что изначальная часть дома стала выглядеть ризалитом. Верхний этаж украсили арочные окна с архивольтом, поверхность главного фасада неизвестный архитектор богато рустировал. Верхнюю часть дома украсили три аттика, на центральном из которых – в старорусском стиле – и появились инициалы владельца – тоже в стиле старославянских букв.

      Строя в конце 1900-х новый корпус гостиницы архитектор Гуськов частично позаимствовал рисунок решётки балкона дома А.П. Зайкова. Впрочем, не исключено, что она была заменена им для поддержания единства двух рядом стоящих зданий.

      В советское время дом вместе с соседними домами был занят под издательство и типографию газеты «Советская Башкирия» и «Вечерняя Уфа», в частности, в бывшем доме А.П. Зайкова располагались лаборатории фотокорреспондентов газет и небольшое общежитие. В то же время въездная арка дома нещадно разбивалась габаритными фургонами грузовиков, везущими товары в продовольственный магазин на первом этаже гостиницы «Уфа» (так в советское время именовалась бывшая «Астория»). Несколько лет назад фасад дома был приведён в порядок, подправлена и арка, правда укрепляющая арматура скрыла прежде циркульную форму арки въезда.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
3428
6
Наверх