List of Sites

Stepanov-Zorin's House

Stepanov-Zorin's House

Nowadays:

Administration Building

The Stepanov-Zorins is a famous Ufa merchant family of the second half of the 19th century and the early 20th century, which owned several estates, mansions, stores on various streets of Ufa. The father of the family, Mikhail Stepanov, was born around 1845. He stemmed from the peasants of Bogorodskaya volost of Ufa region. Initially he was a plain shepherd in Stepanovka village to the north of Ufa and Chernikovka district. By 1879 this estate already belonged to Mikhail Stepanov-Zorin. Due to...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      55 Karl Marx Street
      Public Transport Stop:
      Dom profsoyuzov
  • History

      The Stepanov-Zorins is a famous Ufa merchant family of the second half of the 19th century and the early 20th century, which owned several estates, mansions, stores on various streets of Ufa. The father of the family, Mikhail Stepanov, was born around 1845. He stemmed from the peasants of Bogorodskaya volost of Ufa region. Initially he was a plain shepherd in Stepanovka village to the north of Ufa and Chernikovka district. By 1879 this estate already belonged to Mikhail Stepanov-Zorin. Due to the reforms of the 1860s (the abolition of serfage) some former peasants turned into manufacturers, industrialists and landowners. Mikhail Stepanov was among such peasants. Because his surname was so widespread, in the early period of his entrepreneurship he added Zorin to his surname to make it distinguishable.

      The mansion occupies a large land plot. By now only two residential buildings and one outbuilding (confectionary) have survived. The major house of the estate was built at the end of the 19th-early 20th centuries by the family head Mikhail Stepanov in accordance with his own "architectural taste". We may suppose that the building was constructed in several stages. Initially the façade's central part was built, whereas the sides and hinder part with a porch were built later. During the final stage the multistyle building was united with carved stone facing and topped with turrets and two different balconies on the second storey below the turrets. Both featured forged open-work grating and both were supported by stone carriers.

      The postcard of the very beginning of the 20th century shows that the house was still under construction (or reconstruction). The major entrance with carved double-leaf doors was initially located under the balcony in the left part of the front façade. In the 1910s this entrance was removed.

      The architectural taste of the owner was eclectic but original: upon completion the mansion was unlike any other building in Ufa. In line with the Art Nouveau traditions the building was strictly asymmetric. It was topped with two dissimilar turrets at the corners. The walls of both floors at the southern and lower western and northern facades were faced with soft flagstone. The major façade featured the most intricate and intense pattern of the stone decoration. The fine-cut facing stone is a distinctive feature of the mansion. Soft white stone was extracted from Zorin's quarries: Mishcherinsky in Ufa region and Truntaishevsky in Belebei region. The stones were brought to Ufa on horses, whereas details of the intricate decoration were made (ground out and cut from stone) on the site.

      Until 1920s a bas-relief half-length portrait near the front door depicted the house owner holding a horn of plenty with vegetables, fruits, flowers symbolizing prosperity and wealth of the owner. The space between the windows along the major façade included two identical bas-relieves featuring the monogram of the owner's trade company: the Good News from the Noah's dove which was sent by Noah from the Ark to search for land and which returned with a laurel branch in its beak. The cross wise letters M and A (initial letter of the owner's name and patronymic name) imitated Babylonian hieroglyphic script, whereas vertical intertwined letters Z and S (initial letter of the owner's surname) imitated Church Slavonic ligatured script. On the gate posts of the major house and neighboring red-brick house one may scarcely read two identical stone-carved inscriptions which were carefully destroyed: "House of M.A. Stepanov-Zorin" and house numbers 45 and 47. Inside of the house the principal staircase featured two white-stone lions sitting on each side. After 1919 all houses of the estate were municipalized, but the Stepanov-Zorins stayed to live in them.

      In August 1997 the house was occupied by the Scientific and Production Center for Protection and Use of Historical and Cultural Landmarks. At the end of the same year repair-and-renewal operations have started and lasted until the year 2000. Within the four years all interstorey wooden boards have been substituted with reinforced concrete. Mezzanine turrets have also been restored.

      A fence of low-level white posts with open-work grating in-between used to frame the mansion on both sides. But only a part of these poles remained to the east of the major house.

      To the east of the wooden house there is a large two-storey brick house built by Stepanov-Zorin for members of his large family: he had 6 children from the first marriage and 8 children from the second wife. Besides, some of his children already had families of their own. The building was erected in the so-called brick style with the inclusion of white flagstones. The building was obviously constructed in 1905-1910s: the postcard of the very beginning of the 20th century does not depict it. Besides, similar brick style houses were constructed in Ufa in this very period.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
6022
7
To top

Каталог объектов

Дом жилой Степанова-Зорина

Дом жилой Степанова-Зорина

В наше время:

Административное здание

Степановы-Зорины – известный уфимский купеческий род второй половины ХIХ - начала ХХ веков, владельцы нескольких усадебных мест, особняков, магазинов на разных улицах Уфы. Родоначальник семейства – Михаил Андреевич Степанов родился около 1845 года. Он происходил из...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Карла Маркса улица, 55
      Проезд:
      до остановки «Дом профсоюзов»
  • История

      Степановы-Зорины – известный уфимский купеческий род второй половины ХIХ - начала ХХ веков, владельцы нескольких усадебных мест, особняков, магазинов на разных улицах Уфы. Родоначальник семейства – Михаил Андреевич Степанов родился около 1845 года. Он происходил из крестьян Богородской волости Уфимского уезда и поначалу был простым пастухом деревни Степановки, к северу от Уфы, за Черниковкой. В 1879 году данное усадебное место уже принадлежит Михаилу Андреевичу Степанову-Зорину. В эпоху реформ 1860-х годов вчерашние крестьяне становились заводчиками, промышленниками, землевладельцами. Именно из таких и был М.А. Степанов, прибавивший в начале предпринимательской деятельности для узнаваемости к своей довольно распространенной фамилии приставку - Зорин.

      Усадьба занимает обширный участок, в настоящее время в разной степени сохранности уцелели два жилых здания по красной линии и одно хозяйственное – кондитерская фабрика. Главный дом усадьбы строил в конце XIX – начале XX вв. сам глава семейства Михаил Андреевич по своему «архитектурному вкусу». Можно предположить, что дом возводился в несколько этапов. Первоначально была построена лицевая центральная часть, а боковые объёмы и задняя часть с верандой – позже. На заключительном этапе разностильное здание было собрано воедино резной каменной облицовкой и увенчано башенками, под которыми по красной линии второго этажа появились два разных балкона с ажурными коваными металлическими решётками на каменных же фигурных кронштейнах.

      На открытке первых лет ХХ века дом ещё в процессе строительства (либо перестройки), в лесах. Парадный вход с двустворчатыми резными дверями первоначально располагался под балконом на левом фланге лицевого фасада, примерно в 1910-х гг. этот дверной проём был заложен.

      Архитектурный вкус хозяина, несмотря на эклектичность, был оригинален: особняк после завершения строительства не был похож ни на один дом в Уфе. В традициях модерна здание резко ассиметрично. Венчали его две неодинаковые башенки, поставленные по углам. Стены обоих этажей на южном и в нижних частях западного и северного фасадов имели облицовку из мягкого плитняка. Наиболее причудливый, насыщенный рисунок каменного декора имел главный фасад. Облицовочный выточенный камень – визитная карточка особняка. Мягкий белый камень добывался на зоринских каменоломнях – Мещеринских Уфимского уезда и Трунтаишевских Белебеевского уезда. Каменные глыбы привозились в Уфу на лошадях, а детали причудливого декора изготовлялись (вытачивались, вырезались из камня) прямо на месте.

      У парадного входа до 1920-х годов располагалось высеченное барельефное портретное изображение владельца дома по пояс, держащего в руках рог изобилия, из которого сыпались овощи, фрукты, цветы, символизировавшие достаток и богатство хозяина. По главному фасаду в простенках между окнами сохранились два одинаковых барельефа с монограммой торговой фирмы хозяина: Благовестье – Ноев голубь, посланный им с Ковчега Завета в поисках земли и возвращающийся с лавровой ветвью в клюве. Лежащие поперёк буквы «М» и «А» подражают иероглифическому письму вавилонян, а переплетающиеся вертикально стоящие буквы «З» и «С» – церковно-славянской вязи. На воротных столбах главного дома и соседнего красно-кирпичного едва прочитываются старательно уничтоженные две одинаковые высеченные из камня надписи: «Домъ М.А. Степанова-Зорина» и номера домов – 45 и 47. Внутри по бокам парадной лестницы сидели каменные львы из белого камня. После 1919 года все дома усадьбы были муниципализированы, но Степановы-Зорины оставались жить в них.

      В августе 1997 г. в здании разместился Научно-производственный центр по охране и использованию памятников истории и культуры. В конце того же года были начаты ремонтно-восстановительные работы, которые продолжались до 2000 года. В течение четырёх лет все межэтажные деревянные перекрытия были заменены на железобетонные, воссозданы мезонины-башенки.

      Слева и справа от особняка вдоль тротуара тянулась ограда из белокаменных невысоких столбов с шишаками и ажурными металлическими решётками в пролётах. Сохранилась лишь часть столбов восточнее главного особняка, но уже без решёток.

      Восточнее деревянного дома стоит большой 2-этажный кирпичный жилой дом, построенный М.А. Степановым-Зориным для членов своей большой семьи – 6 детей от первого брака и 8 от второго, к тому же, у некоторых детей уже были свои семьи. Здание возведено в «кирпичном стиле» с вкраплениями из белокаменных плит. Вероятные годы строительства – 1905-10-е, на открытке его ещё нет, аналогичные в Уфе дома кирпичного стиля были построены именно в эти годы.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
3458
7
Наверх