List of Sites

Chizhov's House (Former Mansion of Timber Industrialist Chizhov)

Chizhov's House (Former Mansion of Timber Industrialist Chizhov)

Nowadays:

Akhmet-Zaki Validi National Library of the Republic of Bashkortostan

In 1890s the third part of all the Ufa brick houses belonged to the family of timber merchant Feodor Chizhov. The best part of his houses was concentrated on Bolshaya Kazanskaya Street (Oktyabrskoy revolyutsii Street), which comprised an integrated historical and architechtural ensemble. The Ufa hereditary honorary citizen, 1st guild merchant Chizhov (approx. 1830-1900) was named "Ufa Croesus" (after the famous Lydia King) for his overwhelming wealth. By 1900 his wealth was estimated...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      10a Oktyabrskaya Revolyutsiya Street
      Phone:
      +7 (347) 273-08-00
      Business hours:
      Mon-Fri 10.00a.m.-8.00p.m., Sat 10.00a.m.-6p.m.
      E-mail:
      bashnl@bashnl.ru
      Public Transport Stop:
      Oktyabrskoy Revolyutsii, BGPU
  • History

      In 1890s the third part of all the Ufa brick houses belonged to the family of timber merchant Feodor Chizhov. The best part of his houses was concentrated on Bolshaya Kazanskaya Street (Oktyabrskoy revolyutsii Street), which comprised an integrated historical and architechtural ensemble.

      The Ufa hereditary honorary citizen, 1st guild merchant Chizhov (approx. 1830-1900) was named "Ufa Croesus" (after the famous Lydia King) for his overwhelming wealth. By 1900 his wealth was estimated approximately 67 thousand rubles, besides, his wife also had a capital of 21 thousand rubles. In 1890 Chizhov donated his mansion on Telegrafnaya (Tsuruypy) Street to the city for the purpose of establishing a hospital for 30 patients, which became the first large hospital in Ufa. Back then the former regional hospital (currently the Republican hospital) was quite modest in both size and capabilities.

      In the city Chizhov was famous for being a generous benefactor. He donated to almost every significant construction of a public building or church in the city. In 1887-1890 he was the head of the city.

      The major Chizhov’s House, where he lived himself, was a two-storied brick house with towers at the corners and balcony grating featuring the initial letters of the owner’s name. It was built at the end of the 1880s in the style of Russian Eclecticism. Judging by the photos the building acquired its present appearance at the end of the 19th century. In the Soviet era the house was occupied by the district committee, housing, and a Museum of Local Lore, History and Economy up to the early 1990s. The house was restored a number of times. Now the building is occupied by the French department of the National Library.

      The adjacent house owned by Chizhov was rented by the Surveying School, which moved from Orenburg to Ufa in 1879. In the Soviet time the building was occupied by the orphanage, tailor school, hospital, district committees of the All-Union Leninist Young Communist League and Communist Party of the Soviet Union, geology institute. The wonderful building featured elements of Eclecticism and late Classicism, rich molding. It has never been restored, only cosmetic repairs have been made. Now the building is occupied by the Pedagogical University.

      Another one-storey stone building of Chizhov was rented by the Volga and Kama Commercial Bank. In early 1970s during the construction of the Pedagogical University the house was badly damaged: the rich molding has been demolished, a large brick attic was destroyed, the initial letters of the bank name above the left entrance have been removed. Now the building looks very primitive. The deep bank basements, though, have remained.

      Chairman of various committees, patron and benefactor, Feodor Chizhov died in the year 1900 and buried at the Ufa Old Believer Cemetery. In 1930s the cemetery along the Traktovaya Street was destroyed, and wooden houses have been built at the site. After Chizhov’s death the household was maintained by his wife Iraida Chizhova. The contemporaries told that she was a good owner, and she could enter cold water herself to accelerate the works.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
6338
9
To top

Каталог объектов

Дом жилой Чижова (бывший особняк лесопромышленника Чижова)

Дом жилой Чижова (бывший особняк лесопромышленника Чижова)

В наше время:

Национальная библиотека имени Ахмет-Заки Валиди Республики Башкортостан

В 1890-е годы семейству лесопромышленника Фёдора Чижова принадлежала третья часть кирпичных домов Уфы. Основные его домовладения были сосредоточены по улице Большой Казанской (Октябрьской революции), представлявшей уже тогда единый историко-архитектурный...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Октябрьской революции улица, 10а
      Телефон:
      +7 (347) 273-08-00
      Часы работы:
      Пн-Пт 10.00-20.00, Сб 10.00-18.00
      E-mail:
      bashnl@bashnl.ru
      Проезд:
      до остановки «Октябрьской революции», «БГПУ»
  • История

      В 1890-е годы семейству лесопромышленника Фёдора Чижова принадлежала третья часть кирпичных домов Уфы. Основные его домовладения были сосредоточены по улице Большой Казанской (Октябрьской революции), представлявшей уже тогда единый историко-архитектурный ансамбль.

      Потомственного почётного гражданина Уфы, купца I-й гильдии Чижова (ок.1830-1900) за несметные богатства называли «уфимским Крезом» в память известного лидийского царя. К 1900 году его состояние оценивалось почти в 67 тысяч рублей, кроме того, капитал в 21 тысячу числился за его супругой. Около 1890 года Чижов пожертвовал свою усадьбу по улице Телеграфной (Цюрупы) городу под больницу на 30 коек, которая стала первым в Уфе крупным лечебным заведением, ведь земская больница (нынешняя республиканская) была тогда ещё весьма скромна и размерами, и возможностями.

      В историю города Чижов вошёл прежде всего как щедрый благотворитель, без его пожертвований не обходилось, пожалуй, строительство ни одного заметного общественного здания или храма в городе. В 1887 – 1890 гг. он был городским головой.

      Главный из всех принадлежавших Чижову домов, в котором жил сам хозяин, – кирпичный, двухэтажный, с угловыми башнями и балконными решётками, в которые вплетены буквы Ф и Ч, – построен в стиле русской эклектики в конце 1880-х годов. Но, судя по ранним фотографиям дошедший до нашего времени вид он получил только в самом конце ХIХ века. В советское время в нём располагались райком, жильё, до начала 1990-х – краеведческий музей. Дом неоднократно реставрировался. Теперь его занимает Французский зал Национальной библиотеки.

      Рядом стоящий дом был отдан Чижовым в аренду Землемерному училищу, которое переехало в Уфу в 1879 году из Оренбурга. В советское время в здании были школа для сирот, школа для швейников, госпиталь, райкомы ВЛКСМ и КПСС, институт геологии. Прекрасное здание, выстроенное с переплетением элементов эклектики и позднего классицизма, с богатой лепниной, никогда нормально не реставрировалось, делался только косметический ремонт. Сейчас его занимает педуниверситет.

      Ещё один – одноэтажный каменный дом – был сдан Чижовым в аренду Волжско-Камскому коммерческому банку. В начале 1970-х годов при постройке корпуса пединститута дом был сильно изувечен: уничтожена роскошная лепнина, разрушено по фасаду большое кирпичное сооружение в виде аттика, сбиты буквы «В.-К.К.Б.» над входом слева. Теперь здание выглядит почти примитивной постройкой. Сохранились, правда, глубокие банковские подвалы.

      Директор всевозможных обществ, покровитель и меценат Фёдор Чижов скончался в 1900 году и погребён на Старообрядческом кладбище Уфы. В 1930-е годы это кладбище по улице Трактовой было разорено, а на его месте построены деревянные дома. После его смерти хозяйство приняла его жена – Ираида Чижова. Современники рассказывали, что эта женщина настолько вошла в роль хозяйки, что сама при необходимости могла войти в холодную воду, чтобы собственным примером ускорить работы.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
5051
9
Наверх