List of Sites

Bazilevskiy's House

Bazilevskiy's House

Nowadays:

Ufa Eye Research Institute of Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Bashkortostan

According to the 1879 Ufa population census, the land plot with this stone two-storey house along the building line of current Pushkin Street belonged to the heirs of Ivan Bazilevskiy. Ivan Bazilevskiy (1791-1876), a son of a Sterlitamak priest, was educated at the Ufa Theological Seminary, then at the Kazan Theological Academy. His first employment was in Ufa, he reached the rank of the Actual State Councilor. His activity included wine taxation and gold mining. He had five estates in Ufa and...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      92 Pushkin Street
      Phone:
      +7 (347) 273-30-57
      Business hours:
      Mon-Fri 8.30a.m.-5.30p.m.
      E-mail:
      eye@anrb.ru
      Public Transport Stop:
      Dom aktera imeni B. Yusupovoi
  • History

      According to the 1879 Ufa population census, the land plot with this stone two-storey house along the building line of current Pushkin Street belonged to the heirs of Ivan Bazilevskiy. Ivan Bazilevskiy (1791-1876), a son of a Sterlitamak priest, was educated at the Ufa Theological Seminary, then at the Kazan Theological Academy. His first employment was in Ufa, he reached the rank of the Actual State Councilor. His activity included wine taxation and gold mining. He had five estates in Ufa and Belebey districts (uyezd). Before the Emancipation reform he owned 1,000 male serfs.

      Having made a fortune, Ivan Bazilevskiy moved to Saint-Petersburg. In Ufa he was widely known for his handsome charitable donations. According to Marshal of Nobility V. Novikov, «Mr. Bazilevskiy helped every charitable institution in Ufa, and through his contributions he reinforced and increased the funds of benevolent societies.» In 1875 Bazilevskiy’s donations were employed to build a new wooden theater in Sofia's Garden instead of the burnt-out one. It is this theater where young Feodor Chaliapin performed in 1890 as a member of Semyonov-Samarsky troupe.

      Having purchased a small steamship named "Manatura", in 1867 Ivan Bazilevskiy established weekly passenger service between Ufa and Naberezhnye Chelny. In order to commemorate his contributions, Ufa City Duma named one of the Ufa streets after Bazilevskiy; it was the initial part of the current Lenina Street: the interval up to Pushkina Street.

      As for the Bazilevskiy's house, we know neither the architect's name nor construction time. The house stands in stark contrast with Poletayev's Hotel to the left of the building. The house looks more austere than the neighboring building with fanciful decorations.

      In the early 20th century the architectural mixture within a single facility allowed to switch from one style to another: the period of Eclecticism still depended on Classicism. Later Art Nouveau, to the contrary, depended on Eclecticism.

      The passage between the estate and hotel is closed with parapet design consisting of circular windings and curls, as well as front gates (recently restored) with semicircles, full of flower design, which once again stressed the lightness of both buildings.

      Decoration of the building is very modest. It is decorated with the lonely but fanciful ornament above the three arched windows of the avant-corps in the central part of the building. As opposite to the arbitrary planning of its neighboring building, this house, consistently with Classicism, is symmetric. Initially the building was not plastered; it allows limiting its construction time to the interval of 1870-1780, i.e. the period of Eclecticism.

      At the very beginning of the 20th century the land was purchased by Ufa notary Nikolay Bogolyubov. Currently the building is occupied by the Eye Research Institute. Previously it was named Ufa Eye Infirmary, which was opened in 1990-s on Ufimskaya Street (currently Chernyshevsky Street). In 1925 the Ufa Eye Infirmary moved to 90 Pushkin Street. In a year it was reorganized into the Bashkir Trachomatous Research Institute.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
6759
8
To top

Каталог объектов

Дом Базилевского

Дом Базилевского

В наше время:

Уфимский научно-исследовательский институт глазных болезней Академии наук Республики Башкортостан

По городской переписи населения 1879 года участок, на котором стоит этот двухэтажный каменный дом по красной линии нынешней улицы Пушкина, принадлежал наследникам Ивана Базилевского. Иван Фёдорович Базилевский (1791 – 1876) - сын стерлитамакского священника. Он получил...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Пушкина улица, 90
      Телефон:
      +7 (347) 273-30-57
      Часы работы:
      Пн-Пт 8.30-17.30
      E-mail:
      eye@anrb.ru
      Проезд:
      до остановки «Дом актера им. Б. Юсуповой»
  • История

      По городской переписи населения 1879 года участок, на котором стоит этот двухэтажный каменный дом по красной линии нынешней улицы Пушкина, принадлежал наследникам Ивана Базилевского. Иван Фёдорович Базилевский (1791 – 1876) - сын стерлитамакского священника. Он получил образование в Уфимской духовной семинарии, затем в Казанской духовной академии. Начал службу в Уфе, дошёл до чина действительного статского советника. Занимался винным откупом, золотодобычей. Владел пятью помещичьими имениями в Уфимском и Белебеевском уездах. Перед отменой крепостного права за ним числилось 1000 душ мужского пола крепостных крестьян.

      Разбогатев, И.Ф. Базилевский переселился в Петербург. Широкую известность в Уфе он приобрёл щедрыми пожертвованиями на благотворительные цели. По выражению предводителя уфимского дворянства В.А. Новикова, не было в Уфе «ни одного благотворительного учреждения, в котором бы Базилевский не принимал участия, содействуя своими вкладами упрочнению и увеличению средств и благотворительных обществ». В 1875 году на пожертвования Базилевского в Софьином саду был построен новый деревянный театр взамен сгоревшего. Именно в этом театре в 1890 году выступал юный Фёдор Шаляпин, прибывший на гастроли в Уфу в составе труппы Семёнова-Самарского.

      Приобретя небольшой пароход «Манатура», И.Ф. Базилевский в 1867 году открыл еженедельное пассажирское сообщение между Уфой и Набережными Челнами. Отмечая его заслуги, Уфимская городская дума назвала одну из улиц в Уфе Базилевской – это был начальный участок нынешней улицы Ленина до улицы Пушкинской.

      Что же касается дома Базилевского, то не известны не только имя архитектора, но и время постройки. Бывший дом Базилевского резко контрастирует со стоящей левее гостиницей Полетаева. Он выглядит намного более лаконично, чем соседнее здание, насыщенное причудливыми украшениями.

      Архитектурный сумбур на заре XX столетия на одном и том же объекте позволял перейти от одного стилистического направления к другому: в период эклектизма ещё чувствовалось зависимость от классицизма, а позже, в период модерна, напротив, наблюдалось уже влияние эклектики.

      Проход между усадьбой и гостиницей преграждает составленный из круговых извивов, завитков и волютных «кудрей» рисунок парапетной решётки и парадные ворота (недавно восстановленные) с полукружием, заполненным растительным орнаментом, усиливали эффект воздушности, присущий обоим зданиям.

      Декоративная отделка здания очень скромна – его украшает только причудливый орнамент над тремя арочными окнами ризалита в центральной части здания. В отличие от произвольно спланированного соседнего здания, этот дом показательно, как в классицизме, симметричен. Но изначально здание не было оштукатурено, что и позволяет отнести время его постройки к 1870 – 1880 гг., к периоду господства эклектики.

      В самом начале ХХ века участок приобрёл уфимский нотариус Николай Боголюбов. Ныне здесь, как и в соседнем здании бывшей гостиницы, размещается научно-исследовательский институт глазных болезней, предшественником которого была Уфимская глазная лечебница, открытая в 1900-х гг. на улице Уфимской (ныне Чернышевского). В 1925 году уфимская глазная лечебница переехала в здание по улице Пушкина, 90, а ещё через год она была реорганизована в Башкирский научно-исследовательский трахоматозный институт.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
5250
8
Наверх