List of Sites

District School and House of Chuvash Enlightener P.M. Mironov

District School and House of Chuvash Enlightener P.M. Mironov

Nowadays:

Office block

The first educational institution of Ufa opened in the 20s of the 18th century at the Ufa garrison. In this school children were taught not only reading and writing but also mathematics, fortification, and gunnery. In 1778 the school was moved to Orenburg. In the 80s of the 18th century the government ordered to establish minor people's schools (2-class institutions) and major people's schools (4-class institutions in governorate cities only). The major people's school was opened in Ufa in...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      110 Pushkin Street
      Public Transport Stop:
      Sovetskaya ploshchad, Ufimkabel
  • History

      The first educational institution of Ufa opened in the 20s of the 18th century at the Ufa garrison. In this school children were taught not only reading and writing but also mathematics, fortification, and gunnery. In 1778 the school was moved to Orenburg. In the 80s of the 18th century the government ordered to establish minor people's schools (2-class institutions) and major people's schools (4-class institutions in governorate cities only). The major people's school was opened in Ufa in September 1789. It is this school that Sergey Aksakov, a famous Russian writer, used to study in. Later the writer recollected that his peers, being already punished, could play pranks behind the teacher, unafraid of being disciplined with rods. These rods caused so much distress in Sergey that his parents were afraid of letting Sergey go to the school. In 1779 the school was moved to Orenburg, whereas minor people's school was, in turn, moved to Ufa.

      On December 6, 1818 minor school was reorganized into the Ufa district school with the following subjects in the curriculum: Russian, calligraphy, geography, history, arithmetic, basics of geometry, physics, and natural science, as well as Scripture knowledge.

      Gymnasiums in Ufa did not open until ten more years had passed. They were intended for the nobility children to get "proper education". In gymnasiums children learnt Russian literature, geography, mathematics, physics, law, statistics, Latin, German, French, Greek, and Tatar Language (since 1853). Besides, they opened a private (since 1859) and parochial (since 1860) schools with primary education curricula. Normally the nobility educated their children at home by hiring private teachers, including those among the French.

      In the early 19th century they started opening private fee-based boarding schools, for boys (Sosyonova and Gutop) and girls (Urikh, Gern, and Peutling etc). In the early 20th century primary education system was represented by the parochial schools. In 1911 there were eight such schools in Ufa. By this time district school had already been renamed into the First City 4-Class School. It still occupied the building of the mid-19th century (it can be seen on the photo of 1867) on the corner of Telegrafnaya and Pushkinskaya Streets. In this school arithmetic and geography was taught by a famous Chuvash educator and enlightener Pavel Mironov (1861-1921).

      In many ways it's a Classicism building. Eclecticism, though, is also visible in the building style. It is unlikely that we shall ever find out the architect's name. Alternating straight and rectangular dripstones of the second floor windows are the building's major decoration. Unfortunately, more than one hundred years ago a half of the first floor turned out to be below the ground level due to macadamizing and aligning of Telegrafnaya and Pushkinskaya Streets.

      In the Soviet age the main corner entrance was mured and even plastered. The building, though, was still used as intended: it was occupied by the 8-class (7-class school until the end of 1950s) school No.18. For some time children of primary school No.3 also studied in the building. Since 1992 the building has been used by the Pavel Mironov Chuvash Sunday School.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
3455
6
To top

Каталог объектов

Уездное училище и дом, где жил чувашский просветитель П.М. Миронов

Уездное училище и дом, где жил чувашский просветитель П.М. Миронов

В наше время:

Административное здание

Первое учебное заведение старой Уфы открылось в 20-х годах ХVIII века при уфимском гарнизоне. Там детей обучали не только чтению и письму, но и математике, фортификации, артиллерии. В 1778 году эта школа была переведена в Оренбург. В 80-х годах ХVIII века правительство постановило...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Пушкина улица, 110
      Проезд:
      до остановок «Советская площадь», «Уфимкабель»
  • История

      Первое учебное заведение старой Уфы открылось в 20-х годах ХVIII века при уфимском гарнизоне. Там детей обучали не только чтению и письму, но и математике, фортификации, артиллерии. В 1778 году эта школа была переведена в Оренбург. В 80-х годах ХVIII века правительство постановило учредить малые народные училища (из двух классов) и главные (в составе 4-х классов, но только в губернских городах). Главное народное училище было открыто в Уфе в сентябре 1789 года. Именно в него повели маленького Серёжу Аксакова. Ровесники Серёжи из народного училища, будучи наказанными стоянием у доски перед классом, умудрялись, как вспоминал Сергей Тимофеевич, устроить потасовку прямо за спиной учителя, не боясь розг. Для шестилетнего же Серёжи эти самые розги стали тогда поводом для таких сильных переживаний, что отдать его в училище родители не решились. В 1797-м училище перевели в Оренбург, а в Уфу оттуда переехало малое училище.

      6 декабря 1818 года малое училище было преобразовано в Уфимское уездное училище. В училище этом изучались: русский язык, чистописание, география, история, арифметика, начальные сведения из геометрии, физики, естествознания, а также закон Божий.

      Гимназии в Уфе для получения дворянскими детьми «порядочного образования» открылась ещё через десять лет. Здесь изучали русскую словесность, географию, математику, физику, законоведение, статистику, латинский, немецкий, французский, греческий, а с 1853 года и татарский языки. Кроме этого, в Уфе открылись казенное частное (с 1859 года) и приходское (с 1860 года) училища – школы первоначального обучения. Дворяне обычно учили своих детей дома, нанимая учителей, в том числе и французов.

      С начала ХIХ века в городе начали открываться частные пансионы, платные, мужские и женские (мужские – И.П. Сосфенова, В.Б. Гутоп, женские Е. Урих, П. Герн, Н. Пеутлинг и другие). В начале ХХ века в системе начального образования главное место занимали приходские училища. В Уфе в 1911 году было восемь таких училищ. Уездное училище к этому времени стало именоваться Первым городским 4-классным училищем. Оно продолжало занимать построенное ещё в середине ХIХ века здание (на снимке 1867 года оно уже присутствует) на углу улиц Телеграфной и Пушкинской. Арифметику и геометрию в училище преподавал знаменитый чувашский педагог и просветитель Павел Миронович Миронов (1861 – 1921).

      Здание это во многом несёт отпечаток классицизма, хотя эклектика в нём тоже заметна. Имя архитектора вряд ли когда будет установлено. Чередующиеся прямые и треугольные сандрики окон второго этажа являются главным украшением здания. К сожалению уже в связи с шоссировкой и выравниванием улицы Телеграфной и Пушкинской ещё больше ста лет назад первый этаж здания наполовину ушёл под землю.

      В советское время был заложен и даже заштукатурен и парадный вход в здание со стороны акцентированного срезом угла. Здание продолжало использоваться по назначению – его занимала восьмилетняя (до конца 1950-х семилетняя) школа №18. Некоторое время в нём занимались начальные классы школы №3. С 1992 года в здании размещается чувашская воскресная школа имени Павла Миронова.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
4564
6
Наверх