List of Sites

Building of Bashkir Consumers' Association

Building of Bashkir Consumers' Association

Nowadays:

Office block

Many on-line "experts" claim that the famous saying "Merry in Ufa when with money – stay in Chishma when you are broke" emerged because of this building. Allegedly, some time ago there was a snack bar Chishma and Ufa restaurant in this building, and that's how the saying appeared. Indeed, there was a snack bar named Chishma in this building, but it emerged one hundred years after the saying had actually appeared. It was simply an advertising trick, which gave a new meaning to the existing...
  • Audio story
  • How to visit?
      Address:
      26 Lenin Street
      Public Transport Stop:
      Gostiny Dvor
  • History

      Many on-line "experts" claim that the famous saying "Merry in Ufa when with money – stay in Chishma when you are broke" emerged because of this building. Allegedly, some time ago there was a snack bar Chishma and Ufa restaurant in this building, and that's how the saying appeared. Indeed, there was a snack bar named Chishma in this building, but it emerged one hundred years after the saying had actually appeared. It was simply an advertising trick, which gave a new meaning to the existing words.

      In a way Bashkir Consumers' Association was a successor of the Credit Union, which was established in Ufa in 1879. The merchant community closely cooperated with the Union. In May 1911 they built a Credit Union building on Verkhne-Torgovaya Square, but in the Soviet age it was occupied by other banks. That is why members of Bashkir association ordered a design of an office building in one of the most famous architectural companies in Moscow, which was headed by academician I. Fomin. The designing was headed by Professor Boris Korshunov (1886-1961). In May 1933 during the experts meeting in the Bashkir People's Commissariat of Public Utilities they discussed the project of the new building. The project was confirmed without remarks. The building's facades were highly estimated. The experts' conclusion has another interesting note: "Architectural decoration is successful, especially its corner and the entrance's portico". The construction started in 1933 and ended in 1935.

      B. Korshunov offered a complex design of the half-quarter-long building. Its major part was devoted to the offices of Bashkir Consumers' Association and Ufa Cooperation College. The first floor was designed to be disposed by shops, a restaurant and a hairdresser's parlor. The building's major peculiarity is its cour d‘honneur, an enclosed court. Its major decoration consists in an entrance risalit on the left. It allowed arranging a double-height assembly hall over the entrance. Square supports of the risalit transform into the pilasters, which separate windows of the assembly hall. The right risalit adjacent to the old Blokhin's building of the bookstore was used for residential purposes.

      The second part of the building faces Kommunisticheskaya Street. Because of the surface slope it has a high ground floor for a kitchen, stores and other staff rooms. Both wings are united by a dominating tower, which is two floors higher than the rest of the building. The yard part of the ground floor was used as a boiler room with a chimney. The latter was hidden by the tower.

      The office part has high ceilings and wide corridors with heavy oak doors on either side. The first floor entrance hall looks monumentally. Stair flights leading all the way to the third floor and the assembly hall start in this hall.

      The building of the Bashkir Consumers' Association has confirmed many architectural innovations and new construction techniques in Ufa. In the 1980s the exterior was improved: columns and pilasters were decorated with marble. Ufa restaurant did not meet the competition and closed, grocery stores on the first floor closed as well. Only the hairdresser's parlor managed to survive in the new age. The best part of the building is still occupied by the office of Bashkir Consumers' Association and Ufa Cooperation College.

  • Photo
  • Show on map
      loading map...
4512
3
To top

Каталог объектов

Здание Башпотребсоюза

Здание Башпотребсоюза

В наше время:

Административное здание

Интернет пестрит сообщениями «знатоков» о том, что благодаря зданию «Башпотребсоюза» появилась известная на всю страну поговорка: «Деньги есть – Уфа гуляем, денег нет – Чишма сидим». Дескать, со стороны улицы Коммунистической когда-то была закусочная под названием...
  • Аудио рассказ об объекте
  • Как посетить?
      Адрес:
      Ленина улица, 26
      Проезд:
      до остановки «Гостиный Двор»
  • История

      Интернет пестрит сообщениями «знатоков» о том, что благодаря зданию «Башпотребсоюза» появилась известная на всю страну поговорка: «Деньги есть – Уфа гуляем, денег нет – Чишма сидим». Дескать, со стороны улицы Коммунистической когда-то была закусочная под названием «Чишма». Ну а ресторан «Уфа» помнят многие уфимцы. Закусочная «Чишма» действительно была, но открылась она лет через сто после появления связанной с Уфой дореволюционной поговорки, это было красивым коммерческим ходом, трактующим давно известные слова, но не более того.

      В некотором роде Башпотребсоюз является преемником коммерческого банка под названием Общество взаимного кредита, учреждённого ещё в 1879 году в Уфе. С Обществом взаимного кредита было тесно связано и купеческое общество. В мае 1911 года на Верхне-Торговой площади было построено здание банка, но в советские годы здание заняли другие банки, поэтому башкирские кооператоры, обладая значительными средствами, разместили заказ на проектирование административного здания в одной из престижных архитектурных мастерских Москвы, которую возглавлял академик И. Фомин. Непосредственно проектированием руководил профессор Борис Андреевич Коршунов (1886 – 1961). В мае 1933 года на заседании экспертно-технического совета при Башкирском народном комиссариате коммунального хозяйства был рассмотрен проект нового здания Башсоюза. Проект был утверждён без замечаний. Высокая оценка была дана фасадам здания. Экспертное заключение содержит ещё одну примечательную запись: «Архитектурное оформление считать удачным, особенно в решении угла и портика главного входа». Здание начали возводить в 1933 году и завершили его строительство в 1935-м.

      Б.А. Коршунов предложил здание сложной в плане формы протяжённостью в полквартала. Главная его часть предназначалась для административных служб Башсоюза и учебных помещений Уфимского кооперативного техникума. Первый этаж был отведён под магазины, ресторан и парикмахерскую. Главной особенностью здания явился курдонёр – своеобразный внутренний дворик между крыльями-ризалитами. А основным украшением – левый, входной ризалит, отстоящий от фасада на значительное расстояние – такой приём позволил устроить над входной группой двухсветный актовый зал. Квадратные опоры ризалита переходят в пилястры, ритмично делящие остекление торжественного фасада актового зала. В правом ризалите, вплотную примыкающем к выстроенному ещё Николаем Блохиным зданию книжного магазина, разместились квартиры со всеми удобствами.

      Второй объём здания «Башсоюза» обращён фасадом на улицу Коммунистическую. С учётом рельефа местности в нём появилась высокая цокольная часть, где обосновались кухня, складские и иные служебные помещения. Оба объёма органично объединяет башня-доминанта, которая возвышается над всем пространством застройки ещё на два этажа. Со двора в цокольной части под башней была котельная, труба от которой очень удачно маскировалась этой самой башней.

      В административном корпусе – широкие коридоры, высокие потолки. Сохранились тяжёлые дубовые двери по обе стороны коридоров. Строгая монументальность придана вестибюлю первого этажа. Отсюда начинаются противостоящие друг другу марши парадной лестницы, ведущие на третий этаж, к фойе актового зала.

      Здание «Башсоюза» впервые утвердило многие новаторские архитектурные тенденции и строительные приёмы в Уфе. В 1980-е годы внешний вид здания облагородили за счёт отделки колонн и продолжающих их пилястр мрамором. Ресторан «Уфа» не выдержал конкуренции и закрылся, закрылись и продовольственные магазины первого этажа. Только парикмахерская прижилась в новом времени. И по-прежнему основные площади здания занимают административные службы Башпотребсоюза и Уфимский кооперативный техникум.

  • Фотографии
  • Показать на карте
      загрузка карты...
5596
4
Наверх